The Improvised Play

The scarce 1983 paperback “The Improvised Play : The Work of Mike Leigh”, written by Paul Clements and dedicated entirely to the work of the great English writer and director of film and theatre, Mike Leigh. Leigh began as a theatre director and playwright in the mid-1960s and in the 1970s and 1980s his career moved between theatre work and making films for BBC Television, many of which were characterised by a gritty “kitchen sink realism” style. Mike Leigh’s many works include “Nuts in May”(1975), “Abigail’s Party”(1977), “Life Is Sweet”(1990), “Naked”(1993), “Secrets & Lies”(1993), “Vera Drake”(2004),”Mr. Turner”(2014), to name a few. Being the first extensive study of Leigh’s early work, this textbook, drawn principally from innumerable conversations and taped interviews with Leigh between 1980-1982, gives the reader an introduction and background to Leigh’s beginnings, an in-depth study of his methods and approaches to plays and films, and a valuable appendix (complete checklist of all the plays and films devised and directed by Mike Leigh up until 1983).

First edition.

* Condition: Good (general wear and creasing to edges/covers) – All care is taken to provide accurate condition details of used books, photos available on request.

The Improvised Play : The Work of Mike Leigh
Product Options
Shipping Rate: A
Order The Improvised Play : The Work of Mike Leigh - @ $55.00